Regis University Provost Patricia Ladewig nominated for prestigious 2013 ATHENA Award

Donnie VeaseyMarch 28, 2013

(DENVER) – Regis University Provost Patricia Ladewig is one of 18 nominees for the prestigious 2013 ATHENA Award which honors a Denver woman who strives toward the highest levels of personal and professional accomplishment, who excels in their chosen field, devotes time and energy to their community in a meaningful way, and forges paths of leadership for other women to follow.

As provost, Ladewig serves as the chief academic administrator position for Colorado’s only Jesuit Catholic university and serves as acting president in the extended absence of the University president

Ladewig, who earned a doctorate in higher education administration from the University of Denver, has worked in higher education for more than 30 years.  She has previously served as vice president for Academic Affairs and academic dean of the University’s Rueckert-Hartman College for Health Professions. As dean she led the college through a time of spectacular growth and development with enrollments increasing from about 100 students to well over 3000. Under her direction the College added the university’s first professional doctoral programs.  She held faculty positions at Florida State University, The Catholic University of America, Pikes Peak Community College, and Loretto Heights College before beginning at Regis University in 1988. 

Ladewig currently serves as a director on the Board of Directors of ABET, the national organization that accredits programs in engineering and technology and on the Quality and Patient Safety Committee of the Board of Centura Health. She was on the St. Anthony’s Hospital Board for 10 years including serving as chair for four years.  Before joining St. Anthony’s Board she served on the Board of Craig Hospital for 8 years including a term a Chair. She also served for many years as a Higher Learning Commission consultant-evaluator.

Ladewig completed a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from the College of St. Teresa and a Master of Science in Maternal-Newborn Nursing from The Catholic University of America. 

She is the co-author of Maternal-Newborn Nursing: A Family-Centered Approach, now in its 9th edition, and Maternal-Newborn Nursing: The Nurse, the Family and the Community, 8th edition, and Maternal and Child Nursing Care, 3rd edition. 

The Chicago native is married to Tim, an engineer at Lockheed Martin and has four grandchildren.  In her free time she enjoys reading, traveling, downhill skiing, and attending Colorado Rockies baseball game – she is an avid fan.

The finalists and award recipient will be named at the ATHENA Award Gala on April 25, from 5:30 to 9 p.m. at the Hyatt Regency at the Colorado Convention Center.

In addition to Ladewig, the 2013 ATHENA nominees are: Louise C. Atkinson, The Women’s Foundation of Colorado president & chief executive officer; Morag Barrett, Skye Associates LLC chief executive officer & founder; Deborah Dale Brackney, Mountain States Employers Council vice president; Erin Reilly Gibbs, Rocky Mountain Vein Institute chief executive officer, owner & founder; Suzanne Griffiths, Gutterman Griffiths PC Shareholder/co-founder; Sheila Gutterman, Gutterman Griffiths PC Shareholder/co-founder; Janet Lowe, Vectra Bank Colorado senior vice president, director, Vectra Wealth Management; Denise Maes, ACLU director of public policy; Christine Márquez-Hudson, Mi Casa Resource Center chief executive officer & executive director; Katrina Salem, PwC managing partner; Joyce Schlose, Goodwill Industries of Denver vice president of workforce development; Diane Scott, Western Union Financial Services, Inc. executive vice president, chief product & marketing officer; Bev Sloan, The Denver Hospice chief executive officer; Teresa Taylor, Blue Valley Advisors chief executive officer; Lynne Valencia, Gannett Inc., KUSA-TV/9NEWS vice president community relations; Tamra Ward, Colorado Concern president; and Elbra Wedgeworth, Denver Health & Hospital Authority chief government relations officer.